Video posts

Hurting people by your words? How not too! :)

Everyone has struggled with emotions and feelings. Feelings can be very difficult to express and focus on. Most of the time we can’t tell if we are coming or going. It is hard to figure out what we want or what we don’t want. Why do we feel a certain way? Sometimes we just can’t understand. There is so much going on in the world, you may get caught up in something.

Often times we hurt the people we love, we know those are the people we want to be honest and open with. We know they love us and are there for us but it seems like we hurt them anyways. Lets say you want to tell your spouse something he/she is doing that has been hurting you. Obviously you really want to express this with him/her. You sit he/she down and you start to explain the thing he/she did last week, hurt your feelings. You being the person who is hurt says ” You made me feel hurt”.  Your spouse all of sudden became defensive and gets loud. Your thinking, this is not helping the situation but your spouse got defensive because they feel you are blaming them for your feelings. He/she is not responsible for your feelings. You are the only one who is responsible for them. This makes sense, right? You already knew this because you are smart but its hard to express what you are feeling. The emotions and feelings you have are your own, so its only fair to get to know them. 🙂

This man in the video is saying instead of saying “you made me feel hurt”, you can say         ” when you did that , I felt …..”.  So you can take responsible for your feelings and you are still communicating them to your love ones without hurting them.

This video was an eye opener for me. I never looked at it like that. I got inspire to write this post because last night I told my boyfriend he made me feel hurt. He immediately (what seem to be) got load and mad. The example I told in this post was me last night. I don’t want to blame anyone for my feelings but I do want to communicate what I am feelings.

I hope you enjoyed reading this. Thank you so much for all the support!! 🙂

https://truefreedomtoday.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

